Catch-Up Readers Bundle 5 - Fantasy Collection Bundle 1

Catch-Up Readers Bundle 5 - Fantasy Collection Bundle 1

  • $1,400.00
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

The SPELD Victoria Bookstore now offers an excellent range of classroom bundles which include multiple copies of each book in the series. These bundles are designed for use in classrooms for reading groups, intervention programs, or as take-home readers. These bundles make it easy for teachers to ensure that all students have access to high quality reading materials at the right level.

This bundle contains three (3) sets of the Magic Belt, Totem, and the Talisman 1 & 2 series (132 readers in total) along with one (1) of each of the corresponding, photocopiable workbooks (four workbooks in total). This bundle includes four series which have a fantasy theme and cover a range of phonic knowledge and skills.

Magic Belt

The Magic Belt series includes 12 quest stories for older "catch-up" students who would benefit from starting a phonics program from the beginning. Action-packed with fantastic illustrations and age-appropriate stories, the series starts at CVC/CVCC level text. It then builds up reading skills in step-by-step phonic progression, allowing practice and consolidation at each level. Designed to appeal to and engage older students, this is a great reading resource for older, beginner readers.

Book 1: CVC, CVCC
Book 2: CVCC
Book 3: CVCC
Book 4: CCVC, -ed
Book 5: CCVCC
Book 6: ch, tch
Book 7: sh
Book 8: th
Book 9: ck, qu
Book 10: ng
Book 11: wh, -ing
Book 12: le

The Magic Belt Workbook is a valuable teaching companion to the Magic Belt series. The workbook will complete your set with practical activities relating to the Magic Belt series books. It is photocopiable and has activities for segmenting, blending, phoneme manipulation and comprehension.

Totem Series

The Totem series is an exciting, fresh start for older pupils aged 8-14 that builds up reading skills from CVC (consonant/vowel/consonant) level. This highly-structured, cumulative series includes 12 books which cover the essential phonic foundations that a 'catch up' reader will need. Designed to appeal to older reluctant readers with exciting and motivating stories and illustrations.

Book 1: The Kidnap - cvc  cvcc
Book 2: The Gift - cvc  cvcc  ccvc
Book 3: On the Brink of Death - cvc  cvcc  ccvc ccvcc
Book 4: The Shadow on the Cliffs - sh  ch  th
Book 5: Bad Luck - ck  ng  qu  wh
Book 6: Dangers on the Plain - ai  ay  a-e  a
Book 7: Valley of Dreams - ee  ea  e  y  ey
Book 8: The Monster Below - o-e  ow  oa  o
Book 9: Murky Waters - er  ir  ur
Book 10: Danger all Around - ow  ou
Book 11: Jungle Fright - igh  i-e  y  i
Book 12: Hooved - oo  ew  u-e  u

The Totem Workbook provides practical activities relating to the Totem books. It is photocopiable and has activities for segmenting, blending, phoneme manipulation and comprehension.

Talisman 1 Series 

The Talisman 1 series is an exciting fresh start for older students who need to learn the phonic code. The series of 10 books introduces the vowel sounds and their alternative spellings. Original, striking and motivating illustrations and stories will appeal to struggling or reluctant readers.

With a reading practice page, vocabulary page and multisyllable words split for the reader, these highly-decodable books ensure reading success. Each title has 16 pages in full colour.

Book 1: The Talisman  -  ay, ai, a, a-e, ea, ey
Book 2: Stampede  -  ee, ea, y, e, ie, e-e, ei
Book 3: Shadow in the River - ow, oa, oe, o-e, o
Book 4: Deep Sea Danger  -  er, ir, ur, or, ear
Book 5: Hounded in the Snow  -  ow, ou, &, oi, oy
Book 6: Death at Noon  -  oo, ue, u-e, ew, ou, u
Book 7: A Cry in the Dark  -  igh, ie, i-e, i, y
Book 8: Attack at Nightfall  -  or, ore, a, aw, awe, au, ar, al ough
Book 9: Mountain Scare  -  air, are, ear, ere, eir
Book 10:  The Dark Master  -   ar, a, al, au, ear

The Talisman workbook 1 offers activities based on the phonic focus of each of the books.  Students will benefit from practising word-building, blending, reading and sorting activities. The workbook also includes follow up activities such as comprehension, spelling and writing to help maintain interest and variety. All activities are fully photocopiable.

Talisman 2 Series

The Talisman 2 series focuses on more complex spelling patterns that have not yet been covered. The mystical stories have been set out in a way that will engage children between the ages of 8 - 14 and are designed to appeal to older, reluctant readers.

Sounds covered inlude:

Book 1:  Reunited  -  u-e, ue, ew, u
Book 2:  Trouble in the Woods  -   'u'; ou, o, u, 'o': a, o, ou
Book 3:  Certain Death  -  s, ss, c, ce,se, sc, st
Book 4:  The Fossil  -  l, ll,le, il, al, ol, el
Book 5:  Legends of the Gorge  -  j, g, ge, dge, dj
Book 6:  The Sphinx  -  f, ff, gh, ph
Book 7:  Sticky Adventure -  ture
Book 8:  Dangerous Direction  -  tion, ssion, tian, sion, cian
Book 9:  Zak Tries Martial Arts -  cial, tial, tious, cious, ious
Book 10: The Dark Monter's Vision  -  sion

The Talisman 2 series workbook contains photocopiable reading, spelling and comprehension activities for each of the stories.