Dandelion Extended Code Bundle 1

Dandelion Extended Code Bundle 1

  • $1,594.00
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

The SPELD Victoria Bookstore now offers an excellent range of classroom bundles which include multiple copies of each book in the series. These bundles are designed for use in classrooms for reading groups, intervention programs, or as take-home readers. These bundles make it easy for teachers to ensure that all students have access to high quality reading materials at the right level.

The Dandelion Extended Code readers are perfect for use by children in Year 1 and Year 2, either as a follow up to the Dandelion Initial Phonic Code Readers Units 1 to 20 or as an additional resource in conjunction with any other phonic reading programme. The four books, Levels 1 to 4, introduce the learners to the different spellings of a particular vowel sounds. Dandelion Extended Phonics Series are also suitable for reluctant older readers.

This bundle consists of four (4) sets of each Extended Code unit and four (4) of the Split Vowel Spellings series (230 readers in total), along with one (1) of each corresponding, photocopiable workbook (five workbooks in total). This bundle also includes one (1) 4-in-a-row Games set for Levels 1, 2, 3 and 4.

Extended Phonic Code Level 1, The Mail, includes 14 books. Each book introduces one spelling for a vowel sound: 

Book 1 : ai
Book 2: ee
Book 3: oe
Book 4: er
Book 5: e
Book 6: ow
Book 7: oo

Book 8: ie
Book 9: oo
Book 10: or
Book 11: oi
Book 12: ar
Book 13: air
Book 14: ear

Extended Phonic Code Level 2 includes 14 books. Each book introduces two or three alternative spellings for the vowel sounds present in Level 1:

Book 1: ai, ay, a
Book 2: ee, e, ea
Book 3: oa, o, ow
Book 4: ur, er, ir
Book 5: ea, e, ai
Book 6: ow, ou
Book 7: oo, ew, ue
Book 8: igh, i, y
Book 9: oo, oul, u
Book 10: or, a, aw
Book 11: oi, oy
Book 12: ar, a, al
Book 13: air, are, ere
Book 14: ear, eer, ere

Extended Phonic Code Level 3 includes 14 books. Each book introduces more spellings for the vowel sounds in Level 1 and Level 2:

Book 1: ai, ay, a, a-e, ea
Book2: ee, e, ea, y
Book 3: oa, o, ow, oe, o-e
Book 4: ur, er, ir, or, ear
Book 5: "ea" as "ae" "ee" or "e"
Book 6: "ow" as ''ow" or "oe"
Book 7: "oo", ew, ue, u-e
Book 8: igh, i, y, ie, i-e
Book 9: "oo" as in "boot" or "look"
Book 10: or, a, aw, au, au, al
Book 11: oi, oy, uoy
Book 12: ar, a, al, au, ear
Book 13: air, are, ere, ear, eir
Book 14: "ear" as in air, ar, er, ear

Extended Phonic Code Level 4 includes 14 books. Level 4 includes more alternative spellings for vowels and consonants, alternative sounds for the spellings, and common suffixes:

Book 1: ue, u-e, ew, u
Book 2: u, ou, o
Book 3: o, a, ou, au
Book 4: s, ss, se, st, sc, c, ce
Book 5: c
Book 6: i, ll, el, il, al, le, ol
Book7: j, g, ge, dge
Book 8: g
Book 9: f, ff, gh, ph
Book 10: -ture
Book 11: -tion
Book 12: -ssion, -cian
Book 13: -sure
Book 14: -sion

The Split Vowel Spelling set introduces the spellings a-e, e-e, i-e, o-e and u-e and follow on from the Extended Phonic Codes in the Dandelion series. There are six books in the set - one for each separate spelling and one that includes all the spellings.

The 4-in-a-row vowel spelling games correspond to Dandelion Readers Extended Code Levels 1, 2, 3 & 4. They are a great way to end a lesson and useful, fun resource to consolidate the sounds covered.