Moon Dogs Extras Series

Moon Dogs Extras Series

  • $124.00
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

Moon Dogs Extras is a set of 24 decodable books (3 books for each stage) for older beginner readers. This unique resource is designed for children who are learning the sounds of the alphabet and how to blend sounds into CVC (consonant/vowel/consonant) words. Some children need a great deal of practice at this early stage of reading. Having different books to read at every stage offers further practice, reading success, and a sense of achievement for children who are struggling to learn to read. 

Moon Dogs Extras follow the same scope and sequence as Moon Dogs Set 1 and as Dandelion Launchers (our decodables for younger beginner readers) so it can be used as a supplementary resource for children who need extra support in both age groups. These fun stories about a group of tweens in a rock band will engage and entertain children across the board. The illustrations are age-appropriate and will appeal to older readers too. 

Following the same stair-step progression, each stage (unit) introduces a few sounds at a time, allowing the beginner reader to consolidate learning in a scaffolded way. Previous sounds/letters are included as the reader progresses through the series so that no learning is lost along the way. 

This series includes:
Book 1a, 1b, and 1c: s a t i m
Book 2a, 2b, and 2c: n o p
Book 3a, 3b, and 3c: b c g h
Book 4a, 4b, and 4c: d e f v
Book 5a, 5b, and 5c: k l r u
Book 6a, 6b, and 6c: j w z
Book 7a, 7b, and 7c: x y ff ll ss zz
Book 8a, 8b, and 8c: all initial sounds, cvc

The Moon Dogs Extras workbook can be purchased separately. It is a spiral bound photocopiable book which contains word building, reading, spelling, comprehension, grammar and vocabulary exercises.